Find us on facebook Find us on twitter
Chapters & Member Societies
The IFCN has no individual members, but consists of national member societies similar to the World Federation of Neurology or the European Federation of Neurological Societies. Most countries have only one member society, but a few have two. Although Europe has the highest density of member societies, Latin America, North America and Asia-Oceania are also well represented. Africa, however, is still undeveloped, since Egypt is currently the only member society.

For clinical neurophysiologists living in countries without a national society for clinical neurophysiology, the International Clinical Neurophysiology Society (ICNS) has been established and is formally a member society of the IFCN.

Since the member societies in different parts of the world may have different expectations and needs, four IFCN chapters have been formed over the last decade to harbor the national societies in greater geographical regions, i.e. Asia-Oceania, Europe- Middle East-Africa, Latin America and North America. Although these chapters have no formal status in the IFCN constitution, they have their own committees and organize chapter meetings usually every four years between the international congresses of clinical neurophysiology. The main task of the chapters is to preserve and to improve the quality of clinical neurophysiology by encouraging and supporting national societies within their region in organizing scientific and educational meetings and courses. The IFCN supports the chapters financially in doing this.

Although the constitution of an organization is not unchangeable, the current structure of the IFCN, with its national member societies as the basis, and the four geographically defined chapters, has proven of great value.

Europe, Middle East and Africa | Asia-Oceania | Latin America | North America

Europe, Middle East and Africa

Europe, Middle East and Africa Contact Information

Prof. Walter Paulus
Department of Clinical Neurophysiology,
University of Göttingen

Chapter Officers:
Chair: Prof. Walter Paulus
Secretary/Treasurer: Prof. Jonathan Cole
Member-at-Large: Prof. Ivan Rektor
Member-at-Large: Prof. Antonio Martins de Silva
IFCN Liaison Officer:
Prof. Paolo Rossini

Members of Europe, Middle East and Africa

Austria Greece Portugal
Belgium Hungary Romania
Belgium Desmedt Iran Russia
Bulgaria Iraq Serbia
Croatia Ireland Slovak Republic
Czech Republic Israel Slovenia
Denmark Italy Spain
Egypt Jordan Sweden
Estonia Luxembourg Switzerland
Finland Netherlands Turkey
France Norway United Kingdom
Germany Poland

^ top ^


Asia-Oceania Contact Information

Contact officer

Dr. Ryusuke Kakigi
E-mail :


Dr. Ryusuke Kakigi
Organization : Dept of Integrated Physiology, National Institute for Physiological Sciences
Address : 38 Nishigonaka Myodaiji, Okazaki, 444-8585 Japan
Phone number : 81-0564-55-7751
Fax number : 81-0564-52-7913
E-mail :

Past President

Professor Kwang-Woo Lee
Organization : Dept of Neurology, The Seoul National University
Address : 28 Yongon-dong Chono-gu, Seoul, Korea <110-744>
Phone number : 82-2-2072-3215
Fax number : 82-2-762-5684
E-mail :

General Secretary/Treasurer
Professor Manfaluthy Hakim
Organization : Dept of Neurology, Faculty of Medicine, University of Indonesia
Address : Jl Salemba Raya No 6, Jakarta, DKI Jakarta, Indonesia 10430
E-mail :

Members of Asia-Oceania

Australia Japan Singapore
China Korea Taiwan
India Malaysia Thailand
Indonesia Philippines

^ top ^

Latin America

Latin America Contact Information

Dr. Jorge Gutierrez
Colombia (ACME)

Past President
Dr. Renato Verdugo

Dr. Jorge Burgos Centeno

Dr. Paulo Andre Teixeira Kimaid

Member at Large
Dra. Alicia Cueto

Dra. Maria Magdalena Penela

Liason IFCN
Dr. Daniel Cibils

Members of Latin America

Argentina Colombia Guatemala
Bolivia Colombia Mexico
Brazil Cuba Peru
Chile Dominican Republic Uruguay

^ top ^

North America

North America Contact Information

Chapter Officers
Donald B. Sanders, MD
Duke Univ Med Ctr
Div of Neurology
Trent Dr Rm 1255 Clinic 1L Box 3403
Durham, NC 27710-0001
T: (919) 684-6078

Dr. Jose Zeneto-Tellez, MD, PhD, FRCP
The Canadian Society of Clinical Neurophysiologists (CSCN)
Tel: (403) 229-9544
Fax: (403) 229-1661

Peter W. Kaplan, MD, FRCP, FACNS
Director of EEG and Epilepsy
Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
Baltimore, MD 21224
T: (410) 550-0630


Members of North America

Canada United States (AANEM) United States (ACNS)

^ top ^