IFCN Society of Neuromuscular Imaging (ISNMI)

IFCN Society of Neuromuscular Imaging (ISNMI)

ISNMI (IFCN Society of Neuromuscular Imaging) is comprised of clinicians and researchers from six continents.  A wide range of specialties is represented, including neurology, radiology, physiatry, rheumatology, orthopedic surgery and many more.  Our academic interest centers on integration of imaging into the clinical and neurophysiologic assessment of peripheral nerve and muscle diseases. ISNMI conducts an annual course and conference for the presentation of research, didactics and to provide hands-on training in neuromuscular ultrasound techniques. ISNMI (IFCN Society of Neuromuscular Imaging) is the former ISNMI (International Society of Neuromuscular Imaging) and ISPNI (International Society of Peripheral Neurophysiological Imaging).


The ISNMI is a society dedicated to teaching and advancing knowledge and skills in the field of neuromuscular imaging. We believe these techniques are a valuable addition to this field. Our aim is to facilitate the implementation and use of nerve and muscle ultrasound, MRI and other imaging techniques, in every part of the world that has practitioners involved in the diagnosis, treatment and research of patients with neuromuscular disorders.

ISNMI Board Members:

Nens van Alfen, MD, PhD

President: Nens van Alfen, MD, PhD
Department of Neurology and Clinical Neurophysiology
Clinical Neuromuscular Imaging Group,
Radboudumc Center of Expertise for Neuromuscular Disorders
Donders Institute for Brain, Cognition and Behaviour
Radboud University Medical Center
Nijmegen, the Netherlands

Luca Padua, MD, PhD

Founding President: Luca Padua, MD, PhD
Department of Geriatrics and Orthopedics
Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore
High Intensity Neurorehabilitation Unit
Department of Neuroscience, Head and Neck,
Ophtalmology and Thoracic Diseases
Fondazione Policlinico Universitario Agostino Gemelli IRCCS
Rome, Italy

Simon Podnar, MD, DSc

Past President: Simon Podnar, MD, DSc
Medical Director, Division of Neurology
University Medical Centre Ljubljana
Ljubljana, Slovenia

Ana Lucila Moreira, MD

2023 Meeting Organizer – General secretary: Ana Lucila Moreira, MD
Hospital das Clínicas FMUSP - University of São Paulo,
Department of Neuromuscular Diseases and
Department of Peripheral Nerve Surgery
CENEC - Clinical Neurophysiology, Campinas - SP
Neurolum Institute - São Paulo – SP

Michael Cartwright, MD

Treasurer: Michael Cartwright, MD
Wake Forest School of Medicine,
Department of Neurology,
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, USA

David Preston, MD

Education Program Leader: David Preston, MD
Neurological Institute,
University Hospitals - Cleveland Medical Center
Case Western Reserve University,
Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Lisa Hobson-Webb, MD

Research Program Leader: Lisa Hobson-Webb, MD
Duke University School of Medicine,
Department of Neurology
Durham, North Carolina, USA

Monika Krzesniak-Swinarska, MD

The ISNMI Website Manager: Monika Krzesniak-Swinarska, MD
University of New Mexico School of Medicine,
Department of Neurology Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA